HomeSports2024 Indy 500: TV channels, streaming, starting lineup, news, weather more

2024 Indy 500: TV channels, streaming, starting lineup, news, weather more

The ‘Greatest Spectacle in Racing’ is scheduled for Sunday with the 108th running of the Indianapolis 500.

Storylines abound as former NASCAR champion – and current points leader – Kyle Larson makes his IndyCar debut, Roger Penske looks to add to his rather illustrious trophy case and Helio Castroneves looks for a record fifth Indy 500 victory.

Here’s what you need to know ahead of the weekend in Speedway, Indiana:

The Indianapolis 500 will air live on Sunday, May 26 on NBC, Peacock, the NBC Sports app and

Pre-race show: 11am – 12:30pm ET
Race coverage: 12:30 PM – 4:00 PM ET (Green Flag at 12:45 PM ET)

The dominant story during “The Month of May” at the Speedway is Kyle Larson’s attempt at “The Double”: completing the combined 600 laps and 1,100 miles of the Indy 500 and Coca-Cola 600 on the same day. The weather can wreak havoc there (more on that later), but if he starts both races he will be only the fifth driver ever to do so.

Kyle Larson drives into a corner during a practice session for the Indianapolis 500 auto race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Monday, May 20, 2024, in Indianapolis.  (AP Photo/Darron Cummings)

NASCAR’s Kyle Larson qualified fifth for the Indy 500, which would be his first-ever IndyCar start. (AP Photo/Darron Cummings)

Yahoo Sports’ Nick Bromberg wrote earlier this week about the top storylines for the Indy 500, including:

  • Team Penske looking for 20th win: The series and speedway owner has quite the trophy collection and, after clinching all three front row spots this year, has an excellent chance of taking 20 race wins.

  • Honda’s challenge to Chevrolet: Chevys took the top eight spots in qualifying and had a clear advantage when the engines were wide open; a Honda in racing trim can get them out of their seats.

  • Former winners in the field: This year’s grid features eight past winners, including four-time winner Helio Castroneves. The Brazilian legend could break the record for most wins ever at the event, which would elevate him above the likes of AJ Foyt, Rick Mears and Al Unser.

See also  49ers' Brandon Aiyuk targets Amon-Ra St. Brown's $120M deal for new contract

Defending champion Josef Newgarden starts third on the grid and has the best odds going into the weekend at 5-to-1 according to BetMGM.

Best odds of winning
Josef Newgarden +500
Scott McLaughlin +550
Kyle Larson +675
Willpower +700
Alexander Rossi +800
Pato O’Ward +850

The top six betting favorites come from the Penske or Arrow McLaren stables, with Indy 500 rookie and current NASCAR Cup Series points leader Kyle Larson having a moneyline of +675 ahead of his first IndyCar start.

Being the longest running auto race in the United States (starting in 1911), numerous traditions have been built up over the years. Most notable are:

  • Singing of “Back Home Again in Indiana” just before the order to fire engines.

  • The Indianapolis Gordon Pipers bagpipe group plays the Borg-Warner Trophy at the speedway before the race and then plays the winner to victory lane.

  • A three-car starting grid (as opposed to the usual two for all other races).

  • The winner kisses the three-foot stones that mark the speedway’s finish line.

  • The winner drinks (or douses himself with) a liter of milk of his choice: whole, 2% or skimmed milk.

  • The winner receives a wreath with 33 orchids, representing the 33 cars entered.

See also  Dana White 'not happy' with Kelvin Gastelum after UFC over ABC 6 weight issues

  1. Scott McLaughlin (3), Team Penske Chevrolet, 374.220 mph

  2. Will Power (12), Team Penske Chevrolet, 373.917 mph

  3. Josef Newgarden (2), Team Penske Chevrolet, 373.808 mph

  4. Alexander Rossi (7), Arrow McLaren Chevrolet, 373.090 mph

  5. Kyle Larson (17), Arrow McLaren Chevrolet, 372.846 mph

  6. Santino Ferrucci (14), AJ Foyt Enterprises Chevrolet, 372.692 mph

  7. Rinus Veekay (21), Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet, 372.610 mph

  8. Pato O’Ward (5), Arrow McLaren Chevrolet, 372.584 mph

  9. Felix Rosenqvist (60), Meyer Shank Racing Chevrolet, 372.305 mph

  10. Takuma Sato (75), Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda, 372.171 mph

  11. Kyle Kirkwood (27), Andretti Global Honda, 38.993 km/h

  12. Ryan Hunter-Reay (23), Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Cusick Motorsports Chevrolet, 370.567 mph

  13. Colton Herta (26), Andretti Global/Curb-Abajanian Honda, 372.316 mph

  14. Alex Palou (10), Chip Ganassi Racing Honda, 372.306 mph

  15. Callum Ilott (6), Arrow McLaren Chevrolet, 372.230 mph

  16. Marcus Armstrong (11), Chip Ganassi Racing Honda, 372.017 mph

  17. Ed Carpenter (20), Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet, 372.017 mph

  18. Kyffin Simpson (4), Chip Ganasi Racing Honda, 371.948 mph

  19. Marco Andretti (98), Andretti Herta/Marco & Curb-Abajanian Honda, 371.890 mph

  20. Helio Castroneves (06), Meyer Shank/urb-Abajanian Honda, 371.871 mph

  21. Scott Dixon (9), Chip Ganassi Racing Honda, 371.851 mph

  22. Agustin Canapino (75), Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet, 371.847 mph

  23. Sting Ray Robb (41), AJ Foyt Enterprises Chevrolet, 371.826 mph

  24. Christian Rasmussen (33), Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet, 371.682 mph

  25. Tom Blomquist (66), Meyer Shank Racing Honda, 371.578 mph

  26. Romain Grosjean (77), Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet, 371.514 mph

  27. Linus Lundqvist (8), Chip Ganassi Racing Honda, 371.506 mph

  28. Christian Lundgaard (45), Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda, 371.465 mph

  29. Conor Daly (24), Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Cusick Motorsports Chevrolet, 371.243 mph

  30. Pietro Fittipaldi (30), Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda, 371.100 mph

  31. Katherine Legge (51), Dale Coyne Racing Honda, 370.092 mph

  32. Marcus Ericsson (28), Andretti Global Honda, 370.027 mph

  33. Graham Rahal (15), Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda, 229.974

See also  Luis Gil dominates again in Yankees' 5-1 victory over Twins

It’s not pretty. There will be thunderstorms on Sunday with a 62% chance of rain, posing a major threat to Kyle Larson’s attempt to complete all 1,100 miles in one day. Any significant delay to the green flag for the Indy 500 would likely result in Larson flying away from his “day job” driving the No. 5 Hendrick Racing Chevrolet in the series he won outright in 2021.

“Yeah, it doesn’t look too promising for Indy on Sunday… if it’s going to rain, I hope it rains all day,” Larson told reporters earlier this week. “That way it can just be pushed to Monday or something, and then Charlotte won’t rain. I just hope it doesn’t rain, and we can get it in Sunday night and then come here Monday.”

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments