HomeSportsAlaphilippe wins Giro stage 12 after huge breakaway

Alaphilippe wins Giro stage 12 after huge breakaway

Victory for Julian Alaphilippe means he has now completed a full run of Grand Tour victories having previously won six stages in the Tour de France and one stage in the Vuelta a Espana [Getty Images]

Frenchman Julian Alaphilippe kept the chasers at bay after a huge breakaway to claim his first Giro d’Italia win with victory on stage 12.

The 193 km stretch from Martinsicuro to Fano contained enough climbs to deny the sprinters the opportunity to overtake Alaphilippe, who broke away from a large leading group with more than 100 km to go.

The 31-year-old Soudal-Quick Step rider, who came close to winning stage six but was beaten on the line by Pelayo Sanchez, joined the first breakaway of 40 riders before breaking away from the platoon.

The Polti-Kometa rider ran out of steam with 15 km to go while Alaphilippe rode to the front alone.

Quinten Hermans and Jhonatan Narvaez started to close in, but the Frenchman had enough determination to cross the line first, while Narvaez finished ahead of Hermans and took second.

See also  Anthony Rizzo's mistake costs Yankees a 4-3 loss to Angels

Tadej Pogacar, meanwhile, finished in the peloton and retained the pink leader’s jersey.

“I always believed I could win, but until the last kilometers I had to push full throttle. The chasers were right behind me,” said Alaphilippe.

“It was my dream to win a stage in the Giro d’Italia. It makes me really happy. It is an important victory for me after difficult times,” said Alaphilippe.

Table of Contents

Result stage 12

1. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra/Soudal-Quick Step) 4 hours 07 minutes 44 seconds

2. Jhonatan Narvaez (Ecu/Ineos Grenadiers) +31 sec

3. Quinten Hermans (Bel/Alpecin-Deceuninck) +32 sec

4. Michael Valgren (Den/EF Education-EasyPost) +43sec

5. Christian Scaroni (Ita/Astana-Qazaqstan team) Same time

6. Matteo Trentin (Ita/Tudor Pro Cycling) +1min 30sec

7. Simon Clarke (Aus/Israel-Premier Tech) Same time

8. Gijs Leemreize (Dutch/DSM-Firmenich PostNL)

9. Mirco Maestri (Ita/Polti-Kometa)

10. Benjamin Thomas (Fra/Cofidis)

General classification

1. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE-Team Emirates) 45 hours 22 minutes 35 seconds

See also  Moss brought tears to eyes from a standing ovation from fans at Tom Brady HOF night

2. Daniel Martinez (Col/Bora-Hansgrohe) +2:40

3. Geraint Thomas (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) +2:56

4. Ben O’Connor (Aus/Decathlon-AG2R La Mondiale) +3:39

5. Antonio Tiberi (Victorious Italy/Bahrain) +4:27

6. Romain Bardet (Fra/DSM-Firmenich PostNL) +4:57

7. Lorenzo Fortunato (Ita/Astana-Qazaqstan team) +5:19

8. Filippo Zana (Ita/Jayco-AlUla) +5:23

9. Einer Rubio (Col/Movistar) +5:28

10. Thymen Arensman (Ned/Ineos Grenadiers) +5:52

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments