Home Top Stories Fallen members of law enforcement are honored at an annual event in...

Fallen members of law enforcement are honored at an annual event in Goshen

Fallen members of law enforcement are honored at an annual event in Goshen

May 15—GOSHEN — The Goshen Police Department led a ceremony Wednesday afternoon to remember the officers who gave their lives in the line of duty.

Goshen’s Peace Officers Memorial Day took place at the Goshen Police Department and featured award recipients of the Thomas E. Goodwin Memorial Scholarship, named for Goshen’s own fallen officer who was killed in the line of duty on December 11, 1998.

So far, 41 students have received the award, which is intended for students planning to study law enforcement or a related field. This year the award had three extensions and two new recipients.

Natalie May, Daniel Burch and Katelyn E. Foust had their scholarships renewed, and new scholarships went to Chase Buckholz, Cecilia Mendoza and Andrea Aguilar Rodriguez.

Elkhart County Prosecutor Vicki Becker was the keynote speaker for the memorial service.

“I sometimes wonder why you go through with it,” Becker told officers during the ceremony. “When you have so many things against you, so many people who don’t know you have horrible things to say about you. It’s because you were meant to do this. You’re here for a purpose. There’s no doubt about that .” …and we are so blessed because of that.”

Goshen Police Detective Shayne Miller read a roll call of officers across Indiana who died in the line of duty in 2023:

– Deputy Sheriff Asson Hacker, Vanderburgh County Sheriff’s Office, March 2

– Master Trooper James R. Bailey, Indiana State Police, March 3

– Trooper Aaron N. Smith, Indiana State Police, June 28

– Sergeant. Heather Glenn, Tell City Police Department, July 3

– Deputy Sheriff John Durm, Marion County Sheriff’s Office, July 10

– Deputy Sheriff Timothy J. Guyer, Johnson County Sheriff’s Office, August 1

He also honored Goshen officers who died off-duty while still serving as police officers:

–Richard Bowman, September 7, 1951

—Phil Russo, February 4, 2014

—Wade Branson, June 15, 2018

— Kevin “Hollywood” Koontz, July 22, 2019

— Kristen Carich, May 14, 2020

“I honor you,” Becker added. “I honor the principles you stand for and I am committed to ensuring your work is recognized and continued.”

Dani Messick is the education and entertainment reporter for The Goshen News. She can be reached at dani.messick@goshennews.com or at 574-538-2065.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version