HomeTop StoriesFive incumbents will lose seats on the Portage County Board in Tuesday's...

Five incumbents will lose seats on the Portage County Board in Tuesday’s election

STEVENS POINT − Portage County voters cast their ballots for 14 contested seats on the Portage County Board in Tuesday’s election.

The board is faced with decisions about the future of the Portage County Health Care Center, a possible renovation or relocation of the county jail, a possible renovation of the courthouse and ongoing water quality issues.

Portage County Board members serve two-year terms.

Here are the results of those races.

Portage County Board, District 1

Vinnie Miresse

Vinnie Miresse

Incumbent Vinnie Miresse defeated challenger Stephen Klein for the District 1 seat on the Portage County Board. Miresse, 46, has been a member of the board since 2017 and owns a small business that focuses on home renovation, specifically energy efficiency, engineering and local materials.

Portage County Board, District 3

Janell WehrJanell Wehr

Janell Wehr

Janell Wehr defeated incumbent Mark C. Hemmerich for the District 3 seat on the Portage County Board. Wehr, 47, has been the outreach specialist/horticulture educator for Marathon and Wood counties through the University of Wisconsin-Madison Division of Extension since 2019 and served as the assistant BSA Scout leader for Troop 9293, the first BSA Scout Troop serving girls in the community.

Portage County Board, District 4

Dave MedinDave Medin

Dave Medin

Incumbent David Medin defeated challenger Keith Kedrowski for the District 4 seat on the Portage County Board. Medin, 76, is a “longtime member of the County Board” and owner of a small soil testing company. He is a former zoning administrator for Portage County and former community development director for Stevens Point.

See also  Muhlenberg police looking for missing teenager

Portage County Board, District 6

Shaun PrzybylskiShaun Przybylski

Shaun Przybylski

Incumbent Shaun V. Przybylski defeated challenger Timothy Johnson for the District 6 seat on the Portage County Board. Przybylski, 45, has served on the County Board since 2022, works as a library assistant at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point and is a fifth-generation Portage County resident.

Portage County Board, District 8

Joan HonlJoan Honl

Joan Honl

Incumbent Joan M. Honl defeated challenger Johnnie Ciulla for the District 8 seat on the Portage County Board. Honl, 79, has served on the County Board since 2020 and is a retired vocational rehabilitation counselor. Honl told the Stevens Point Journal that she is “very committed to the well-being of this community.”

Portage County Board, District 9

Andreas RockmanAndreas Rockman

Andreas Rockman

Incumbent Andrew Rockman defeated challenger David Eiden for the District 9 seat on the Portage County Board. Rockman, 45, has served on the county council since 2022 and is general manager of Rockman’s Catering, where he has worked for nearly 34 years. “I participated last semester because I felt like I had insight and perspective to offer to the conversation. There is still a lot of that conversation that needs to be had,” Rockman told the Stevens Point Journal.

Portage County Board, District 10

Bob GiffordBob Gifford

Bob Gifford

Incumbent Bob Gifford defeated challenger Mary Rosicky for the District 10 seat on the Portage County Board. Gifford, 72, has served on the County Board since 2016 and is a retired machinist and CAD designer. He held an elected role in his former union and also worked as a staff organizer and business agent.

See also  United Family is launching a statewide fundraiser for wildfire relief

Portage County Board, District 12

Mike SplinterMike Splinter

Mike Splinter

Incumbent Michael J. Splinter narrowly defeated challenger Karin Seig for the District 12 seat on the Portage County Board. Splinter, 72, served eight years on the County Board and retired after 30 years of service with Sentry Insurance. “I always listen to all sides of any issue and participate fully in all discussions prior to a vote. People did not vote me into this position just to sit on my hands,” Splinter told the Stevens Point Journal.

Portage County Board, District 14

Chris RandazzoChris Randazzo

Chris Randazzo

Chris Randazzo defeated incumbent Pat Keller for the District 14 seat on the Portage County Board. Randazzo, 54, owns Galaxy Comics in Stevens Point and previously worked for five years as a local government reporter for the Portage County Gazette.

Portage County Board, District 15

Nancy EgglestonNancy Eggleston

Nancy Eggleston

Nancy Eggleston defeated incumbent Al Haga for the District 15 seat on the Portage County Board. Eggleston, 68, has 40 years of work experience in county government and has worked in Portage and Wood counties, most recently as Wood County’s environmental health and communicable disease supervisor. She also served as president of the Wisconsin Public Health Association and as a member of the Northeast Wisconsin Incident Management team.

Portage County Board, District 16

Steve FritsSteve Frits

Steve Frits

Incumbent Steve Fritz defeated challenger John Bertelson by a margin of just three votes for the District 16 seat on the Portage County Board. Fritz, 66, has served 21 years as the 3rd Ward administrator for the village of Plover and was appointed to the District 16 Council seven months ago following the resignation of former Supervisor Mike Olson. He retired as a maintenance worker at Silgan Containers. “If you are elected, your vote is my vote on the County Board,” Fritz told the Stevens Point Journal.

See also  St. Patrick's Day doesn't have to be a threat to your sobriety. Here are a few tips

Portage County Board, District 17

Suzanne OehlkeSuzanne Oehlke

Suzanne Oehlke

Incumbent Suzanne Oehlke defeated challenger Jackie Szehner for the District 17 seat on the Portage County Board. Oehlke, 69, has 35 years of experience in the following agencies and positions: Portage County Health Care Center, Portage County Health Department, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, CAP Services Inc., private consulting and volunteer work. She is a registered dietitian.

Portage County Board, District 19

Amberle SchwartzAmberle Schwartz

Amberle Schwartz

Amberle Schwartz defeated incumbent Scott Soik by a margin of just seven votes for the District 19 seat on the Portage County Board. Schwartz, 38, works as a naturalist or environmental educator for Boston School Forest in the Stevens Point Area School District. She has been a team leader at Farmshed Growing Collective since 2018, recently founded Portage County for Clean Water, and is president of Wild Ones Central Wisconsin, a group that promotes biodiversity and native plants.

Portage County Board, District 25

Ray ReserRay Reser

Ray Reser

Ray Reser defeated incumbent David L. Peterson for the District 25 seat on the Portage County Board. Reser previously held this seat from 2020 to 2022. He grew up locally on a small farm in the town of New Hope, attended high school and completed his bachelor’s degree locally. He was a former trade union member and trained as a geoscientist.

More local election results: Voters oust two incumbent Stevens Point School Board members and approve $14 million operational referendum

More local election results: Three new representatives will join the Stevens Point City Council after Tuesday’s elections

Erik Pfantz covers local government and education in central Wisconsin for USA-TODAY NETWORK-Wisconsin and values ​​his background as a rural Wisconsinite. Reach him out epfantz@gannett.com or connect with him on X (formerly Twitter) @ErikPfantz.

This article originally appeared in Stevens Point Journal: April 2024 Election: Portage County Board Supervisor Results

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments