Home Top Stories National Native American Hall of Fame announces the 2024 Hall of Fame...

National Native American Hall of Fame announces the 2024 Hall of Fame inductees

National Native American Hall of Fame announces the 2024 Hall of Fame inductees

The National Native American Hall of Fame is pleased to announce the six outstanding individuals who will be inducted into the Hall of Fame class of 2024. The contributions of the National Native American Hall of Fame class of 2024 to Indian Country include disciplines such as government , law, journalism, education, advocacy and the arts. They will be honored at a gala on Oct. 5 at the First Americans Museum in Oklahoma City.

The 2024 inductees include Stanley Crooks (posthumously), Franklin Ducheneaux, Julie Kitka, Henrietta MannVeronica Homer Murdock (posthumously) and “Te Ata”, also known as Mary Thompson Fisher (posthumously).

Never miss Indian Country’s biggest stories and breaking news. Click here to sign up and receive our reporting directly to your inbox every weekday morning.

Stanley Crooks, Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community. Crooks became a national Native American leader during his twenty-year tenure as chairman of the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux community. He was a lifelong member of the National Congress of American Indians and helped found the Embassy of Tribal Nations in Washington, DC. Crooks was president of the Minnesota Indian Gaming Association for many years and represented the SMSC at the National Indian Gaming Association.

Franklin Ducheneaux, Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe. Ducheneaux played a critical role in drafting virtually every major piece of Native American legislation before Congress, including the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act of 1975, the Indian Health Care Improvement Act, the American Indian Religious Freedom Act, the Indian Child Welfare Act. , the Indian Mineral Development Act of 1982 and, in 1990, the Native American Graves Repatriation Act.

Julie Kitka, Chugach Tribe/Alaska. Kitka was a longtime president of the Alaska Federation of Natives (AFN) and served on the Chugach board for more than twenty years. In 2021, Kitka received the Walter J. Hickel Award for Distinguished Public Policy Leadership. She also received the 2022 Ecotrust Indigenous Leadership Awards (ILA) for her tireless work to safeguard and advance the rights of Alaska Natives.

Henrietta Mann, Southern Cheyenne. Mann is a celebrated activist, educator, professor and leading figure in developing programs devoted to Native American studies. As an elected tribal council member for the Cheyenne and Arapaho tribes, she helped draft federal legislation that resulted in a $15 million settlement from the U.S. government in 1967 as part of the Indian Claims Commission. Mann has been integral to the development of Native American studies at colleges and universities across the country. In 2000, she became the first Native American to hold the endowed chair in Native American Studies at Montana State University and was honored with the Montana Governor’s Humanities Award. In 2021, the National Endowment for the Humanities awarded Mann the National Humanities Medal.

Veronica Homer Murdock, Colorado River Indian Tribes – Mohave. Murdock was the first female president of the National Congress of American Indians and a founding member of Women Empowering Women for Indian Nations (WEWIN). She served on the tribal council as vice chair of the Colorado River Tribes from 1969 to 1979 and from 1977 to 1979.

“Te Ata,” Mary Thompson Fisher, Chickasaw Nation. Fisher was an award-winning storyteller and trained actress whose one-woman interpretations of Native American folklore earned her national and international acclaim throughout her 70-year career. She traveled the world and performed for world leaders and heads of state, including President Franklin D. Roosevelt and Queen Elizabeth. Fisher was named Ladies’ Home Journal Woman of the Year in 1976. She was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame in 1957 and named Oklahoma’s first official “State Treasure” in 1987.

About the Author: “Levi \”Calm Before the Storm\” Rickert (Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation) is the founder, publisher and editor of Native News Online. Rickert was awarded the Best Column 2021 Native Media Award for the print category\/ online by the Native American Journalists Association. He is a member of the advisory board of the Multicultural Media Correspondents Association. He can be reached at levi@nativenewsonline.net.

Contact: levi@nativenewsonline.net



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version