HomeTop StoriesCan I travel to other states with marijuana purchased in Missouri? ...

Can I travel to other states with marijuana purchased in Missouri? What the law says

Several states allow recreational marijuana use, including Missouri, which does not prohibit citizens from purchasing products from licensed stores.

However, you should be careful about crossing state lines with marijuana. Illinois is the only state bordering Missouri that has legalized recreational marijuana. Arkansas, Iowa, Kentucky and Oklahoma have legalized marijuana for medical use, while it is illegal in Kansas.

Before you spice up your April 20th celebration, here’s what you need to know about traveling with marijuana in Missouri.

How much marijuana can I possess in Missouri?

Missouri’s recreational marijuana law allows customers to purchase up to 3 ounces of marijuana flower, or its equivalent in other products, at a time. People with a medical marijuana card can purchase up to 6 ounces within a 30-day period.

An individual may purchase up to 3 ounces and be lawfully in possession of up to 3 ounces of dried, processed marijuana or its equivalent in a single transaction.

See also  New Jersey Marine accused of making threats to kill white people and commit mass shootings

People who choose to grow their own marijuana instead of picking it up from a dispensary are also allowed to store up to 3 ounces of harvested marijuana in a locked, locked area.

By comparison, the legal limit for recreational buyers in California and Illinois is 1 ounce, and in Michigan the maximum a recreational customer can purchase is 2.5 ounces.

Can I cross state lines with marijuana purchased in Missouri?

If you plan to leave Missouri, you should leave your weed at home.

Although Missouri has legalized recreational marijuana use, you cannot cross state lines with pot, according to the Drug Enforcement Administration.

Traveling with marijuana to other states is still illegal under federal law and could result in federal criminal charges, even if it is legal in other states, according to the DEA.

Just like laws that prohibit driving under the influence of alcohol, you cannot drive under the influence of marijuana. It is considered a class B misdemeanor for the first offense.

See also  The 'Day On The Job' program guides engineering students with a tour of Ellen Noël's renovation

That first offense could result in up to six months in jail or a $500 fine. Subsequent violations result in a Class A misdemeanor and could result in a year in jail or a fine of up to $2,000.

What if I have weed at KCI?

If you fly out of Kansas City International Airport with marijuana, you may need to limit it to a certain limit.

“Marijuana and certain cannabis-infused products, including some Cannabidiol (CBD) oils, remain illegal under federal law, except for products that contain no more than 0.3 percent THC on a dry weight basis or are approved by the FDA” , according to the Transportation Security Administration. said on its website.

TSA’s screening procedures focus on security to identify potential threats to aircraft and passengers. While TSA agents investigate weapons or other harmful items and find an illegal substance, it will be reported to local law enforcement authorities, according to the TSA.

- Advertisement -
RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments